andyoumakethree

A Mother's Journey

3/17/1999

Leave a comment

How I feel the first week after the adoption…(this is from a booklet I was given to write in)

This first week has been incredibly hard for me.  I hurt, I came home without the baby I gave birth to.  My womb is empty and my tubes has been cut so that I never have to do this again.  Yet, I know I made the best decision available to me.  And I also know who you are with and how much they love you.  I know it will get easier, but for now I just need to have time to grieve and think about the future, mine and yours.

 

15 years later…

I sure did “know” an awful lot, didn’t I?  I was so busy trying to convince myself that this hole in my heart would heal over time and to an extent it does but not like I thought it would.  Nothing fills that empty place, nothing stops the tears when I think of holding her that last time.  Nothing softens the blow when I see the look on JE or DC’s faces when we talk about VG.  It all makes that “loving choice” feel a little less loving.

Author: kat8476

Birth mother extraordinaire, 4 beautiful daughters (one we lost to adoption outside our family 15 years ago), and wife to an awesome husband! Our lives stay busy but there is a noticeable hole that one day we hope will be complete.

Leave a comment